General Information About Jiu Jitsu

Jiu Jitsu

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu or just Jiu Jitsu has been a grappling orientated martial art. It was created in Brazil in the 1920’s.  When Japanese martial artist Mitsuyo Maeda, who traveled all over the world promoting Judo as his master Jigoro Kano from the Kodokan School of martial arts intended.

Although Jiu Jitsu is always compared to Judo and often described as a watered down version that is not the case, those differences appeared as the rules and regulations of judo frequently changed over the years.  Most of the reputation Jiu Jitsu has today is thanks to Royce Gracie and the UFC tournament, although it was named “Vale Tudo” or “Anything Goes” and it has been around since the beginning of Jiu Jutsu since 1920.

General Information

How many belts does Jiu Jitsu have

There are five belts:Jiu Jitsu class
• White belt – First belt, for those just beginning their training.
• Blue belt – In this stage, the student learns a wide range of techniques and spends over one hundred hours on the mat so they can master what they have learned.
• Purple Belt – This is the intermediate practitioner, at this stage, the student is already capable of becoming an instructor in Jiu Jitsu.
• Brown Belt – It takes five years to get to this stage, the student has learned most of the techniques and should start refining them.
• Black Belt – This belt has six different degrees of expertise. It means that the student has achieved the highest level of technical and practical skill. It may take ten years to achieve this belt if the person is starting from the beginning

What is a Gi and what color should it be

A Gi is an outfit worn in the martial art of Jiu Jitsu. It comprises of a heavy cotton jacket and trousers. Black, blue and black are the only colors allowed for international Championships. Also, it is customary for beginners or White Belts to wear only white Gi’s.

What are the rules

Rules are complex and may vary from one championship to another, but some main points are commonly used:

Jiu Jitsu• Queda – When one challenger succeeds in taking their opponent to the ground he is awarded 2 points.
• Raspad – When one manages to land on top of their opponent while he is within your guard, he is given 2 points.
• Passagem de Guarda (Passing the guard) – When you are inside your opponent’s guard and manage to escape while keeping the top position one is awarded 3 points.
• Pegada de Costa (Back mount) – When one manages to place their feet inside the opponent’s thighs and take his back and controlling him one is given 4 points.
• Montada (Mount) – In the top position if one manages to wrap both legs around the opponent’s torso and has their knees on the mat one is awarded 4 points.
These bouts are 10 minutes long in the adult Black Belt category and the opponent with most points win.

William Darnell

View more posts from this author